TVS Racing Electric One Make Championship announced

Gaurav Davare
This is India’s first-ever electric two-wheeler racing championship

They say the early bird gets the worm, and TVS Motor Company has become exactly that in the electric racing space. The company has announced the TVS Racing Electric One Make Championship (e-OMC), marking a historic moment as being the first-ever electric two-wheeler racing championship in India. It will make its debut at the fourth round of the Indian National Motorcycle Racing Championship on September 29, 2023.

Diving deeper into the new electric series, the machinery that’ll be used is the TVS Apache RTE (Racing Throttle Electric) race motorcycle that will be powered by a liquid-cooled electric motor. Other highlights include a carbon fibre battery case that also acts as a stressed member of the chassis, Öhlins front and rear suspension, a Brembo braking system that comprises a 320mm front disc, radial callipers and Pirelli SuperCorsa tyres. Even the chassis and wheels are made from carbon-fibre. 

Mr. Sudarshan Venu, Managing Director, TVS Motor Company said, “TVS Motor has been championing racing ever since we started India’s first factory racing team. TVS Racing has been instrumental in making motorsports aspirational yet accessible for enthusiasts across the country. Many of the technologies that we pioneered in our racing machines have made way to our production vehicles, giving shape to our ‘track to road’ philosophy. In line with our vision of providing exciting and sustainable mobility solutions, we are thrilled to announce the debut of India’s first ever EV two wheeler racing. TVS Racing e-OMC will not only set new benchmarks in the racing segment but also demonstrate the potential of electric vehicles in delivering high-octane and thrilling racing experiences for the world to witness.” 

The inaugural round of the TVS Racing Electric One Make Championship will have an eight-rider grid hand-picked by TVS Racing. 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Previous Post

F4 Indian Championship race car revealed

Next Post

2023 Hyundai i20 N Line launched at Rs 9.99 lakh

Related Posts